Tuesday, February 21, 2012

The Sky is Everywhere : Book Review

The Sky Is Everywhere

Title : The Sky is Everywhere

Series : -
Pages : 283
Author : Jandy Nelson
Publisher : Dial
Format : Old ARC
Source :  Old ARC from The Story Siren


Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

My Opinion:

The Sky is Everywhere is a book you expect to be awesome and great from the start, partly because of its gorgeous cover, and also because of the great summary. But it didn’t start out as well as it should have with me. Maybe it’s because I was so caught up with the last book I had read, Meeting Destiny, or maybe it’s just because I didn’t like the beginning.

After a while, I got a bit tired and restless with the book, but I still continued, because of the many gushing reviews and fans. And as I reread my last paragraphs, I realize you probably don’t know yet if I liked it or not. I disliked the beginning, but the rest was actually really great!
I think what I hated the most was the how Lennie was lost. I didn’t like how she dealt with it, or how the author wrote it.

I also didn’t like that Lennie *SPOILER* cheated on Joe. Couldn’t she just stop!! *spoiler done!*

I guess, overall, this book was good!

4/5 stars!!

1 comment:

  1. I'm happy to hear that you got through the beginning! I totally know what you mean--some beginnings are just really difficult to get through. I haven't read this book, but like you, I've heard lots of gush over it. Although you didn't love, I'm still glad you enjoyed it! Great review :)